# MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL

Monday 16 May 2016



**COUNCILLORS PRESENT:** Councillors Altaf-Khan (Lord Mayor), Humberstone (Deputy Lord Mayor), Cook, Malik, Brown (Sheriff), Abbasi, Azad, Anwar, Brandt, Chapman, Clarkson, Coulter, Curran, Fooks, Gant, Goddard, Haines, Hayes, Henwood, Hollingsworth, Iley-Williamson, Kennedy, Lygo, Mills, Paule, Pegg, Pressel, Price, Rowley, Sanders, Simm, Simmons, Sinclair, Smith, Tanner, Taylor, Thomas, Tidball, Turner, Upton, Wade, Wilkinson and Wolff.

#### 1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17

Councillor Gant proposed and Councillor Price seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Altaf-Khan be elected as Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2016/17.

Councillor Altaf-Khan took the Chair from Councillor Humberstone and subsequently signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

# 2. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17

Councillor Price proposed and Councillor Pegg seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Humberstone be elected as Deputy Lord Mayor of Oxford for the Council Year 2016/17.

Councillor Humberstone subsequently signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

## 3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17

Councillor Tanner proposed and Councillor Coulter seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Brown be elected as Sheriff of Oxford for the Council Year 2016/17.

Councillor Brown subsequently signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

## 4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Fry, Goff, Lloyd-Shogbesan, Munkonge, and Tarver.

## 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations.

#### 6. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LORD MAYOR

The Lord Mayor welcomed newly elected Councillors Azad, Chapman, Curran, Goff, Iley-Williamson, Landell Mills, and Tidball to the Council.

He welcomed those returning and congratulated them on their re-election.

He thanked those who had not returned after the election for their service to the Council.

#### 7. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The Chief Executive made no announcements.

#### 8. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2016 TO 2020

Councillor Turner proposed and Councillor Pressel seconded, and there being no other nominations, Council resolved that Councillor Price be elected as Leader of the Council until Annual Council in May 2020.

#### 9. REPORT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Price thanked Council for electing him as Leader.

He notified Council that the City Executive Board portfolio holders for 2016/17were:

Councillor Price, Council Leader Corporate Strategy and Economic Development Councillor Turner, Deputy Leader Finance, Asset Management and Public Health

Councillor Brown

Customer and Corporate Services

Councillor Hollingsworth

Planning and Regulatory Services

Young People, Schools and Skills

Councillor Rowley Housing

Councillor Sinclair Community Safety

Councillor Simm Culture and Communities

Councillor Smith Leisure, Parks and Sport

Councillor Tanner Climate Change and Cleaner Greener Oxford

## 10. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES FOR THE COUNCIL YEAR 2016/17

The Head of Law and Governance submitted a report and supplementary paper which invited Council to appoint Committees for the Council Year 2016/17 and appoint councillors to these.

#### Council resolved to:

- 1. note the arrangements for determining Political Groups and achieving political balance within the Political Governance arrangements;
- 2. appoint the bodies as currently defined within the Council's Constitution and included in the table in the report;
- 3. agree the nominations to committees made by political groups and attached within a document circulated separately (and as shown below);
- 4. agree that the Labour nomination to the Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee, listed as a vacancy, be made by the Leader of the Council on this occasion:
- 5. appoint Councillor Pressel to the Joint Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee;
- 6. agree that all members of Council will form the pool of members able to observe on appeals and some grievances; and
- 7. authorise the Head of Law and Governance to make any changes to the Constitution as a consequence of these decisions.

# **Committee membership**

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
Licensing and Gambling Acts Committee	Farida Anwar Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter James Fry Chewe Munkonge Dee Sinclair Dan Iley- Williamson Nigel Chapman Tom Hayes vacancy (subsequently confirmed as Councillor Pressel)	Angie Goff Tom Landell-Mills Liz Wade	Ruthi Brandt

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
Oxfordshire Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee	Susanna Pressel		
Appeals	All members of Council		
General Purposes and Licensing Committee	Mary Clarkson Colin Cook Van Coulter Rae Humberstone Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Farida Anwar Jamila Azad	Liz Wade Tom Landell Mills	Ruthi Brandt
Appointments Committee	Pat Kennedy Bob Price Gill Sanders Ed Turner	Andrew Gant	
Audit and Governance Committee	Van Coulter James Fry Michele Paule Chewe Munkonge Marie Tidball	Jean Fooks	David Thomas
Standards Committee	Louise Upton James Fry Susanna Pressel Gill Sanders Mike Rowley	Liz Wade	Dick Wolff
East Area Planning Committee	David Henwood Van Coulter Mary Clarkson Ben Lloyd- Shogbesan Nigel Chapman Sian Taylor Michele Paule	Ruth Wilkinson	Dick Wolff
West Area Planning Committee	Colin Cook Alex Hollingsworth Bob Price John Tanner Louise Upton Jennifer Pegg Marie Tidball	Jean Fooks Tom Landell-Mills	

Committee	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
Planning Review Committee	James Fry Pat Kennedy Ed Turner Farida Anwar Chewe Munkonge Dee Sinclair Sajjad Malik	Steve Goddard	Ruthi Brandt
Scrutiny Committee	Van Coulter Jennifer Pegg James Fry Tom Hayes David Henwood Nigel Chapman Sian Taylor Jamila Azad Marie Tidball	Andrew Gant Ruth Wilkinson	Craig Simmons
Disciplinary Committee	Van Coulter Susanna Pressel Bob Price	Liz Wade	

# 11. COUNCIL SCHEME OF DELEGATION FOR 2016/17

Council resolved to reaffirm for the Council Year 2016/17 its agreement to the Council's Scheme of Delegation set out in Section 5 of the Council's Constitution.

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and ended at 4.20 pm